Andy Warhol, Campbell's Soup I, 1968.

Image via Wikipedia

Alas, my first blog post for the New Year was as slow in appearing as the ice is in melting or being cleared in metro Atlanta.  Today as I was braving the freezing cold to make my way to Starbucks to meet my social media user group members, I noticed a folded AJC section, from Wednesday, on the kitchen table.  Face up was the side bar item entitled “Today’s Number”.  While it wasn’t the exponential number – schools cancelled to the power of number of days, or the number of minutes trucks sat on I-285 near Hartsfield Int’l Airport.  Mentioning Hartsfield, one of the nation’s busiest airports, it wasn’t even the number of flights canceled or the number of people calling the terminal home.  It was a huge number.  $7.75 million.

So what is  significant about 7.75 million dollars ?  It is, according to the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the top estimate that a large and little known self-portrait is pegged to reach.  Whose face ?  Which icon ?  A political leader, a rock-star ?  NO – it is Andy Warhol.  Christie’s expects the 6-foot-square red and white painting by the pop artist executed as one of series in 1967 to bring down the hammer in the 7 mil range.  The painting goes on public view Jan 22 – 26 in NYC, NY.  Auction date for the work is in February.  Check out Christie’s website for a press release at:   Christie’s Andy Warhol Press Release.

Thanks goes out to my husband Joe for bringing home the section, even though he alerted me to  another tidbit which I will share in my next blog post.  My social media user group(smug) rocks – as today’s weather braving smuggers (Twitter ids: @BousquetCMP, @robertfbenson, and @capitalhorizons) encouraged me to get this post out to you.

If you need help understanding auction estimates or want to venture into the wide world of auctions and need a bit of guidance we are here to help.  May your New Year be Healthy, Happy, and Prosperous.

